top of page
  • Writer's pictureEvelyn Creon

Beauty Snuffed Out


I peered beneath the surface

A view caught my gaze,

One of distant beauty

That none could ever gage.

It was powerful and priceless,

Full of deadly and living things;

Of animals and bees.

The creatures all seemed calm

And in perfect harmony.

Maybe never seen before

By a human like me.

Though I knew I shouldn't

I couldn't help myself,

So I touched the surface with my finger.

I had no fear and little doubt.

With an unbearable pain I drew it back

As I watched the ripple I created

poison everything.

The surface that I'd touched

The beauty that I'd seen

Slowly seemed to fade

And shrivel up and die.

My finger it got worse

And my tears didn't help.

My body began to shake uncontrollably.

I tried to grasp for something

But in vain there was nothing.

I fell to my knees in dreadful agony

And passed out from the pain.

When I awoke I could barely stand.

The sight I saw gave me no doubt

That I was the human

Who had snuffed life out.

Out of a world I had dared to touch.

Now all that could be seen

Was the death that lay about.

Not a remembrance of joy,

Of life or of beauty, only decaying bodies.

A sorrow did fill me

To think that I had brought

Such disaster too a peaceful lot.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page