top of page
  • Writer's pictureEvelyn Creon

Billiard Player

I'm told that my father was a billiard player.

The best one in the town.

But I have never seen him play in all.

The years I've been around.

The story goes he played like a wild cat.

And won each and every game.

He was so good that no one.

dared steal his fame.

When ever a stranger came to our town.

A ruckus always began.

The stranger then would invite my father.

To come and play around.


I was told, along came a gal;

That no one in the town did know.

She challenged him to a game of pool.

And one the very first round.

Now my father was no loser;

So he bet with his life.

He'd "Beat her before he died", he said.

But not the way every on thought.

He kicked up his heels, and exclaimed.

While the rest of the town was in shock.

Well I guess I'm beat and so,

I'm forced to tie the knot.

Every person in town understood him now.

The prophesy had came true.

The gal had come and, challenged the master and won.

So he'd wed her and start something new.

Some how I never learned of these lovers.

Or how my parents meet.

Till of Scarlet fever died both.

And I went to live with my aunt


My aunt, she's not the smartest around.

But she has a two cents of her own.

She made sure I knew every detail.

And to me the romance she told.


written by Evelyn Creon

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page