top of page
  • Writer's pictureEvelyn Creon

Black Lake of Death


The head of a child

Sunk beneath the waters,

Of Black Death lake.

Its hollow eyes

Had stared me in the face.

Its pale skin terrified me.

The ghost child disappeared

As quietly as it came.

Leaving me with a sinking feeling

Like a draining drain.

I began to row ashore

When it appeared again

This time with some friends.

They all wore a grin

That was full of devilry.

My throat went dry

When I saw them.

I feared for what they planned.

The children came up close

As if to say hello,

But rather they took the boat

And flipped upside down.

All I remember while I sunk,

In the dark water

Was the warning I'd been given

At twelve O'clock,

"Don't go out today

You will get a fright."

I heeded not the warning,

Now it serves me right.

written by Evelyn Creon

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page