top of page
  • Writer's pictureEvelyn Creon

Dream of Youth


"Do you ever dream?"

A little girl with a basket asked me one day.

"Once upon a time I think.

Life doesn't have time

For such childish games,

So I haven't dreamed in a while."

"I dream all the time,"

The girl announced,

"That I am on an adventure!

Whenever life tries to drag me down

I pretend I'm growing flowers."

"What type of flowers do you grow?"

The little girl smiled with joy.

"Flowers that spread love, peace,

Laughter, happiness, and thankfulness.

Flowers from alien planets,

Gems, and beautiful memories.

The flowers I grow make people happy,

And you seem to need a couple."

The girl pulled two flowers from her basket

And put it in my grubby old hands.

My wrinkled old face smiled,

As the girl skipped down the street.

"Oh, the joys of being young again."

I whispered under my breath.

written By Evelyn Creon

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page