top of page
  • Writer's pictureEvelyn Creon

Is This Our Ideal Life?




Author's Note: What is your ideal life? I ask this question in today's poem, because the life that I am living right now is not my ideal life by any means. My ideal life is walking down the street and being able to smile to brighten a strangers day, to go where I please not worrying about what people say, and to live my life without restrictions. SO, I will ask the question again, is this your ideal life right here right now?



Everywhere we look

We see people wearing masks.

Walking down the street

We try avoiding everyone's path.

We can't look anyone in the eye

And act like everything's alright.


We all live in fear,

Like we're about to die.

We're all freaking out

About everything we hear.


Shouting our doubts

In everyone's ears.

Trying to scare people

Into fearing what we fear.


Is this sad sight

how we should live our lives?

Hiding in the shadows

Afraid to be happy or to thrive.


Is it good for our health

when we are drowning in fear:

Stuck in depression,

Sadness, and despair?

We can't even smile

to the people we pass.

They won't see it

through our stifling mask.


Is this our ideal life,

and if it's not then what is?

written by Evelyn Creon


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page