top of page
  • Writer's pictureEvelyn Creon

Michael built a bicycle

Author's Note: This poem was written by my DAD when he was in 5th grade in 10-18-1984. My grandma came across this poem while going through all my dad's childhood things two weeks. When she showed it to me I fell in love with it. I never imagined my dad writing a poem, and this is just one more example of how amazing he is.


Michael built a bicycle

Unsutiable for speed,

It's crammed with more accessories

Then any one could need.

There's an am-km radio,

A deck to play cassettes,

A refrigerator- freezer,

And a pair of TV sets.


There are shelves for shirts and sweaters,

There are hangers for his jeans,

A drawer for socks and underwear,

A rack for magazines.

There's a fish tank and a birdcage,

Perched upon the handlebars,

A lookcase, and telescope

To watch the moon and stars.

There's a telephone and blender,

And a stove to cook his meals.

There's a sink to do the dishes

Somehow fastened to the wheels.

There's a portable piano,

And a set of model trains,

An automatic bumpershoot

That open when it rains.


There's a desk for typing letters

On his fabulous machine,

A stall for taking showers,

And a room to keep things clean.

But you'll never see him ride it,

For it isn't quite complete,

Michael left no room for peddles

And there isn't any seat.


written by Trevor Creon (my DAD)

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page