top of page
  • Writer's pictureEvelyn Creon

River Greenway

Updated: Jul 22, 2023






Author's Note: Now that May has passed by, I bring a little present from the beginning of my relationship with my husband. I went and visited the first place we went when we first started our relationship, and I was finally able to put into words a memory of us.



I once knew this path,

On a mid-summer evening.

A cover band downtown was singing

While my lover and I walked

The river greenway.


We wandered off the path

Down a little trail,

That led us to a broken boardwalk

There we sat till dusk

Watching the river as we talked.


The river sang a gentle song

The birds and insects joined along.

We shared our first kiss

On the riverbank,

So awkward it was.


People said it would be romantic

And it probably could've been

If I hadn't been so nervous

Wanting it to end.


Later he told me

It was the best kiss he'd ever had.

While in the back of my head

I didn't believe a word he said.


Looking back at the memory

Makes me laugh a little.

We were just two young teens

Trying to figure out life

Just off the river greenway.

written by Evelyn Creon

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page