top of page
  • Writer's pictureEvelyn Creon

An Unexpected Adventure (True Story)


One sunny Saturday afternoon when the sun glistened on the freshly fallen snow. My friends and I decided to take a stroll through the quiet woods behind my house.


They snow crunched under our feet as we ambled along talking and enjoying the beauty that lay around us. Every once in a while tree would let a load of snow off one of two of it's branches, and It would fall like pillows into the snow bellow.


Suddenly, we came to multiple down trees and what looked like a blackberry patch covered by snow. To continue on with our stroll we had to some how make our way of this new obstacle. My friends started to cross with little difficulty and by the end had wet pants.


Being very familiar with these types of cumbersome blockages I had no problem getting across. When I was on the last branch I decided that I would make a stupid statement, and so, I proudly announced, "I made it!" My friends all turned and shook their heads. The consequence of the statement I had made was duly noted after my act.

Proud of my small accomplishment I jumped off the branch without paying any attention to where I might land. my foot caught on a blackberry branch and I fell face first into the snow.


An eruption of laughter filled the wood, as I lied there stunned for a couple moments. When I was finally able to register in my brain what had happened, I could only see an abundant amount of snowflakes.


I slowly rose brushing the snow off of clothes and face while trying to regain my balance. "Well, that was a failure of there ever was one." I said laughing and still a little disoriented. Another rupture of laughter flooded the quiet wood, again.


We still laugh about the unexpected adventure on that sunny, snow covered, day. The moral being some of the best memories happen unexpected and unplanned.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page